Announcing the launch of my new serial novel!

If you ask me how my new novel ends, I’ll tell you that it’s a bit “iffy”.

If. For such a little word it certainly packs a lot of significance. If we never met at that coffee shop all those years ago, we wouldn’t be married. If I hadn’t missed my flight I’d have gotten that job. If it keeps raining our basement is going to flood. It’s remarkable how much this tiny word shapes who we are and where we end up in life.

My latest project, Plot Hinge, is built around that two-letter word by letting chance decide the outcome of my new serial novel, Run.

Here’s how it works. Each week a new chapter will be posted to the Plot Hinge website. At the end of each chapter the story will be left at a cliff hanger with the story able to progress in a couple different directions. I’ll then connect the story to an upcoming, real-world event (like an election, sporting event, weather event, etc). The outcome of that event will decide which direction the plot will proceed and the following chapter will be written accordingly.

For example, at the end of the Run‘s Prologue (click here to go there now), the readers are left with the plot able to go in a couple directions. Whether or not Wiarton Willie sees his shadow on Groundhog Day (Feb 2) will decide which of those directions the story takes.

It’s a fictional story, but the plot hinges on real-world events.

The result is an unpredictable but rewarding experience for both reader and me as the writer. It’s a new approach to storytelling that leaves the fate of the plot to chance. I’ll also have a lot of ways for readers to interact with the story and shape how the story unfolds.

As mentioned, the Prologue to Run is now live. It’s a story about a young, down-on-his-luck man who gets caught up in a world of mistaken identity, espionage and adventure.

Chapter 1 will be published on February 2nd (after Willie makes his appearance) with weekly installments to follow. The reason I’m not immediately jumping into weekly chapters is so we can get as much buzz about it going as possible before the story kicks off in earnest in February.

Here are a few ways you can help build that buzz with me:

  • Share a link to this post or http://www.plothinge.com on your Facebook, Twitter and over email.
  • Visit Plot Hinge and subscribe in the top right corner in order to receive email notifications whenever a new chapter is posted.
  • Read the story’s Prologue and recommend it to your friends.
  • Join my Facebook page where I’ll be posting updates and info about the project.

It’s been a while since I’ve done a fiction project and I’m very excited to be back at it! (Of course, I’ll be keeping up with my regular blogging here on Josh Martin Ink). It’s going to be a lot of fun writing this kind of story and I hope you enjoy being a part of the storytelling experiment!

Check it out at PlotHinge.com!

This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Announcing the launch of my new serial novel!

  1. ktighe says:

    Sounds AMAZING! Excited to see it. There’s something cool to be done in video game writing, which would have the same kind of external deciding force. (But you’d have to write out all the options just in case.)

    • Thanks! Yeah, I’m excited to write it. I think it’s a fun model to build a story around. I have friends in the video game industry which is another innovative storytelling platform for sure. Enjoy the story and don’t forget to subscribe to receive email notifications whenever a new chapter is posted.

Leave a Reply

