The Thanksgiving Project: That’s a wrap!

What do the Thundercats, cheap wine and the 1993 Montreal Canadiens have in common? They’re all part of the Thanksgiving Project!

The Thanksgiving Project list is now 1,190 items long! The goal was to hit the 1,000 mark by the end of November and we did it! Way to go everybody! Thank you all for your tremendous support (you can check out all the entries here – they’re a lot of fun to read).

Sayira added “the internet” to the list and I agree. Thanks to the worldwide web, this project drew comments from people all over: Kansas, Taiwan, Germany, Hawaii, Ireland, Thailand, Australia and all across my home country of Canada. Reading geographically-specific entries was a lot of fun – like “walks in the Harz mountains in Germany”, “the last best place, Montana”, and “Our beautiful home in the Rocky Mountains with views to die for”. Dangerous though because now I’ve got a real travel itch.

The same themes I found in my original “Reasons to Fight” list can also be found in the Thanksgiving Project list:

  • Family.
  • Friends.
  • The many advantages living in the First World offers.
  • Simple pleasures like a hot tea on a cold day.

Reading your entries every day helped remind me of the endless awesomeness going on in my own life. There are in fact many benefits to practicing gratitude. You may have seen this on my Facebook page but if you haven’t, check out this article about the benefits of cultivating an attitude of gratitude.

There’s lots more I could say but I’ll close by saying this: identifying what’s important to us (like the items on the Thanksgiving Project) is an important step. But the next step involves finding ways to make room for these things in our busy lives. (Check out my latest ebook: Balancing Priorities and Prioritizing Balance: How to make room for what matters most in life for some practical ideas on how to do this).

Thanks again everybody. And feel free to keep adding to the Thanksgiving Project and let’s keep this attitude of gratitude going!

For fun, here are 50 of my personal favourites, in no particular order:

  1. belly laughter
  2. Good music and bad dancing
  3. re runs of “The Raccoons” and Cyril Sneer
  4. upcoming 2 year celebration of bone marrow transplant on November 18th (yahoo)
  5. the smell of the air in the spring
  6. the all important three C’s: chocolate, cheese, and cheap wine!
  7. unconditional love from my dog
  8. clean socks.
  9. a Mom who taught me the importance of giving to others
  10. watching chickens be chickens
  11. a slow sip (of something fermented, preferably)
  12. A special Thanksgiving announcement that will herold a perfectly timed June baby
  13. Birth control
  14. Travelling to new places
  15. the smell and sound of a freshly cleaned hockey rink
  16. When my husband tells me he’s going to 7-11 and asks if I want a slurpee (the answer is always yes).
  17. that the oppressive humidity has finally lifted
  18. a cold beer after a long day
  19. Thunderstorms
  20. Laughing so hard that I get a headache.
  21. The movie “Tremors”
  22. the almost science fiction like advanced medical technologies we have today
  23. friends that i can laugh and me myself with
  24. anytime I don’t have to make my own meal
  25. the sound of the furnace kicking in at 6:30 am
  26. waking up early when the whole city is still asleep
  27. I am grateful that I retired, and can now wake up and go to sleep when my body wants to wake up and go to sleep.
  28. I’m thankful for quiet walks in the woods while the snow falls.
  29. Being in remission for 19 years
  30. Solitude
  31. the warm head of my sons
  32. Passionate kisses
  33. hula dancers
  34. My family (made of blood, in-law, friends and furry critters)
  35. the flood in my country (which makes me realise how fortunate I am)
  36. I am thankful for good clean healthy soil to grow my food in.
  37. Flannel sheets on the bed when the weather turns chilly
  38. ENOUGH — shelter, food, clothing, transporation, medical care if I need it, fun times
  39. softly falling big fluffy snowflakes
  40. the 93′ Canadiens
  41. A hot tea on a cold day
  42. That last first date. It’ll come!
  43. A bathroom when an emergency situation is about to turn into a cleanup operation
  44. DMC DeLoreans, the basis for back to the future
  45. Being a nerd
  46. goring Locusts with a retro lancer when my job isn’t so great
  47. Indoor plumbing
  48. sex and the connection, silliness, and pleasure it brings
  49. striking an assignment of the “to do” list
  50. going pee after holding it FOR-EVVVER

_________________________

Funny stories. Good advice. Check out my books, “Simple(ton) Living: Lessons in balance from life’s absurd moments.” and “Balancing Priorities and Prioritizing Balance”. Click here to learn more and to purchase a copy. Thanks!

This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

