The Thanksgiving Project: Giving thanks for life experiences

I admit: I watch too much TV. It’s a bad habit I’m trying to break. A couple articles I read recently are motivating me to spend less time in front of the ol’ boob tube.

The first article talks about a recent study that shows how too little exercise and too much TV are tied to depression. Not a big shocker there but always nice to be reminded. Click here to read the article.

The second article is called “Beyond the Blue Glow: A Year Without TV” by Lisa C. Lambert. Here’s an excerpt about what she got out of her TV-less experience:

“Most importantly, my sense of time is changed. Now, I’ll start a novel and finish it in the same night. I’ll go for a walk around the block and end up on a two-hour stroll through my entire neighbourhood. I’ve reclaimed time for myself. I used to turn on the television to watch one show and then waste my entire evening watching the subsequent programming that didn’t even interest me. A lot of the things I choose for entertainment feel substantial. They are part of my life, not distractions from it.”

When I look back on this year, it’s not the TV shows I watched that I’m grateful for. It’s the experiences, the memories, the time I spent embracing life instead of hiding from it.

These are the kinds of things I’m going remember about 2011 (click on the images to see them full-size):

And a lot more!

So here’s to experiential riches. Here’s to getting off the couch and getting active. Here’s to taking trips instead of buying a second car. Here’s to remembering “what we did” instead of “what we got” at Christmas. Here’s to embracing and being thankful for life’s great experiences.

What experiences are you grateful for this year?

Add your items to the Thanksgiving List—the goal is to have 1,000 items by the end of November. You can also add your items on my Facebook Page and on Twitter, using the #thanksgivingproject hashtag.

Funny stories. Good advice. Check out my books, “Simple(ton) Living: Lessons in balance from life’s absurd moments.” and “Balancing Priorities and Prioritizing Balance”. Click here to learn more and to purchase a copy. Thanks!

This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Thanksgiving Project: Giving thanks for life experiences

  1. Martha (MM) says:

    What wonderful photos and great experiences! I gave up TV years ago, it was one of the best things I ever did for myself. Here’s to you and your awesome inspiration!

  2. I don’t watch broadcast TV, but I do watch DVDs with my housemate. When I move out of my current place I have no plans to get a TV – I’d rather read a book. I find it funny that the ‘living room’ in most houses is really a ‘viewing room’, with all the furniture oriented towards the TV.

  3. Television is definitely one of my weaknesses. I may or may not be addicted to all the series on sunday night HBO… I am going to work on watching less, and getting out or reading more instead! I don’t think I will give it up all together, but scaling back my viewing time shouldn’t be difficult. Now, what am I thankful for? I have been blessed with so much this year that it is somewhat overwhelming. I got a job right out of college, I discovered the minimalist lifestyle and have improved my spending and budgeting, I am doing what I love for the most part, and am learning more and more about what my passions are in life and where I’d like to go with it! Thanks for reminding us to be thankful for our experiences and blessings!

Leave a Reply

