The Thanksgiving Project

Three years later after a successful bone marrow transplant in October 2008, I’ve got a lot to be thankful for. What are you thankful for? Demonstrate your attitude of gratitude by posting the things you’re grateful for in the comment section below.

Thanksgiving has taken on new meaning for me in recent years. On October 15, 2008, two days after Thanksgiving, I had a bone marrow transplant to treat my leukemia. I’m thankful for the medical help I got. I’m thankful for my anonymous bone marrow donor. And considering the doctors had given me a 20% of surviving, I’m just thankful to be alive.

One night, while undergoing chemotherapy treatment at Princess Margaret Hospital in Toronto, I made a list. I called it my “Reasons to Fight” list: 118 items of the things in life I love the most. It became a motivation for me to stay positive and grateful during the difficult time.

The list brims with the people, experiences and simple pleasures that make life so worth living. It includes things like:

  • the smell of a campfire
  • shooting stars
  • mom’s spaghetti sauce
  • gin and tonics
  • skinny-dipping
  • BBQs and beer
  • tobogganing
  • a freshly made bed
  • a good fart

What’s on your list?

I’m now cancer-free and challenging the public to make October and November truly a season of thanksgiving by adding to my list of 118 reasons to fight. My goal is to have 1,000 entries submitted by November 30th! Let’s do it!

Add your entries to the comment section below! You can also share your thoughts on my Facebook Page and on Twitter, using the #thanksgivingproject hashtag. Add many and add often!

This entry was posted in blog and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

142 Responses to The Thanksgiving Project

  1. Things I am thankful for:

    my fantastic children
    my health
    my daily walk around Mudd Lake
    my most amazing co-worker
    the country I live in

  2. Bryna says:

    I am thankful for:
    – my son
    – quiet moments lost in a good book
    – my best friend, Mitch
    – blueberries
    – belly laughter
    – my bike
    – city lights

  3. Wendy says:

    Things I am thankful for
    1. My family – husband, son, baby to come, parents, sister.
    2. The peaceful environment I am blessed to live in
    3. My job
    4. My healthy body
    5. Good food and cooking it
    6. Chocolate.
    7. Trees
    8. Laughter.
    9. Friendships and good people
    10. Faith!

  4. Marie says:

    I am grateful for:
    the friendship I have with my brother and sister
    the friends that have found me along the way
    the opportunity to make a home
    the unconditional love of my puppy
    the generousity of my parents
    the love of my grandparents
    the work I do
    Good music and bad dancing
    movies and popcorn by candlelight
    sparkly things
    travel mugs that keep my tea hot all morning
    cocktails
    using good china for any old day
    recipe books
    big hugs
    presents!
    picnics and potlucks
    crushing on a boy
    long, slow kisses
    hope

  5. Anonymous says:

    for the One day of sunshine in Ireland yesterday!! re runs of “The Raccoons” and Cyril Sneer!! thankful that 2moro is Friday!!! and thankful that my name is NOT sarah!!

  6. Anonymous says:

    I’m thankful for:
    – you!
    – evening prayers with my kids when we all say “thank you for…” something every day
    – my loving husband (who happens to be your brother)
    – my Mom’s recovery
    – happy hour with my neighbours
    – my home renos almost done!

  7. Anonymous says:

    Thankful:
    -for the cool nights of fall to snuggle under a blanket
    -amazing co-workers to share the work we do with young people
    -good parents
    -2 healthy, vibrant children
    -deer coming to feed in my yard
    -grandparents who loved me
    -my husband who loves me and makes me laugh, often
    -freedom to vote
    -first sip of coffee in the morning
    -the feeling 20 min. into a run when you feel like your body’s free
    -a niece
    -a glass of wine with a good meal

  8. Heather says:

    husband who loves me
    kiddo who makes me laugh
    family who all get along, love each other and want to spend time together
    fall leaves
    health care system in Canada
    upcoming 2 year celebration of bone marrow transplant on November 18th (yahoo)
    waking up each morning
    … so much more

  9. Kristin says:

    I am thankful for my supportive friends, family and colleagues,
    for beautiful sunrises and sunsets,
    for the many lessons love has to teach us.

    I am even thankful for loss…because it reminds me of what
    I do have, what I was lucky enough to experience, of the ways
    in which I need to stretch, grow and keep opening myself up,
    even when it feels so hard.

  10. Colleen says:

    my family
    dancing in the kitchen with my daughter
    the smell of the air in the spring
    the first snow fall
    the autumn colours
    my faith
    maple syrup
    fresh baked bread
    falling into bed exhausted at the end of a long day

  11. Anonymous says:

    Gingersnap Cookies
    My Puppies!
    Oktoberfest
    Giant Maple Trees
    Walks in the Park
    Fresh Fruit
    Coronation Street
    Travel with Good Friends

  12. Becky Martin says:

    -My number one has been the same for the past 12 and half years and hopefully for many more dozen years to come: my partner in life, Craig Schmidt.
    -I am thankful for the many moments of enlightment that Taiwan has gifted us.
    -And I am very thankful for all the children I worked for in the past, present and future, who inspire me, awe me, humble me, make me laugh and teach me every single day. For the abundence of love they give to me that fills me to the brim, I am truly grateful.

  13. Rachael says:

    My three F’s: my family, friends and my fiance. For my friends and family, who have helped shape me into the person I am today.

    For my fiance, who has been with me through good times and bad, and who will be there through it all in the years to come.

    And the all important three C’s: chocolate, cheese, and cheap wine!

  14. Heather says:

    -white chocolate macadamia nut cookies
    -turkey dinner
    -local yarn shops
    -Auntie Grace’s World Famous Chocolate Chip Cookies
    -bone marrow transplant and donor (Nov 2009)
    -Mom and Dad
    -Maggie
    -hot water bottles
    -heated seats
    -knit socks
    -jeff and Nathan

    From my almost 4 year old son:
    I am thankful for my whole family and a transformer and I also love my family.

  15. Anonymous says:

    my family and friends
    having hope no matter what
    food on the table
    changing of the seasons
    people who know what kindness is and pay it forward
    unconditional love from my dog
    stars in the sky
    hearing that song on the radio
    seeing friends happy

  16. Pingback: The Thanksgiving Project: Giving thanks for the little things | Josh Martin Ink

  17. Anonymous says:

    Thankful for:

    amazing children and their spouses and significant others and incredible grandchildren
    starry nights
    frost on the grass
    brothers and sisters and mother
    freedom to vote
    lazy weekends
    smiles
    colours of autumn

  18. Sara Rauch says:

    I’m thankful for:
    a fantastic, loving, and supportive partner.
    4 fat cats.
    open windows.
    sunny afternoons.
    strong coffee.
    fresh-picked apples.
    an incredible community.
    words.
    laughter.
    my yoga mat.
    clean socks.
    kale.

  19. Pingback: The Thanksgiving Project: Giving thanks for the people in our lives « Life More Lived

  20. Celia says:

    I’m thankful for:

    walks on the beach in Maine

    being vegan because I love animals

    my sisters

    the chance to buy a home

    a job that allows personal freedom

    fall weather & wearing tights and boots

    a strong and healthy body & mind

    my 95-year-old grandmother

    Gail

    my adorable niece

    my green thumb

    this Thanksgiving Project and the opportunities it presents – thank you!

  21. Lynn Buchanan says:

    thankful for a husband that is still alive because of a bone marrow transplant

    my dishwasher

    left overs from thanksgiving

    the bird feeder in our spruce tree

    a happy 9 year old

    re runs of corner gas

  22. Pingback: The Thanksgiving Project: Giving thanks for the people in our lives | Josh Martin Ink

  23. Alyssa says:

    Thankful for:

    -a sweet boyfriend who will drive 2 hours out of the way in the middle of the night because I’m crying and want to visit my mom’s grave

    -my dog Maggie who’s puppy kisses and soft floppy ears always make me smile

    -fresh bacon

    -good BBQ

    -the ability to walk, run, swim, and use my legs to their full ability

    -a good yoga session that leaves me slightly woozy

    -a family that I love dearly

    -a Dad who has always been there for me

    -a Mom who taught me the importance of giving to others

    -getting lost in a good book

    -sleeping with the windows open to feel the cool breeze

    -a healthy body

    -someone to curl up with every night

  24. Victoria says:

    I am thankful for…

    my health
    my family’s health
    more wealth & resources than most folks in the world will ever have access to
    a cat curled in my lap
    watching chickens be chickens
    sitting on a hillside watching the alpacas graze

  25. Deborah says:

    my puppies greating me when I come home from work!

  26. suburbansatsangs says:

    I am thankful for . . .

    -time to watch a cat nap
    -the smell of good soup simmering in the crock pot
    -lazy Sunday afternoons with family and football
    -a slow sip (of something fermented, preferably)
    -the snores of my dog
    -opportunities to listen closely
    -a kind word
    -nothing (in the minimalist sense)

  27. Anonymous says:

    I am mucho thankful for:
    – garage sales
    – a job that doesn’t always feel like “work”
    – growing up in Kap
    – the chance to see our parents become grandparents
    – my husband’s love of sport
    – second chances
    – all the simpletons I know..

  28. Ellie says:

    – Fresh coffee with eggy-in-a-basket for breakfast
    – An apartment that is full of light
    – Pokadot dresses
    – Hot water
    – A special Thanksgiving announcement that will herold a perfectly timed June baby

  29. Anonymous says:

    I am thankful for:

    My wonderful loving family
    Friends…both near and far
    Health and happiness
    The opportunity to serve others through my work

  30. Erin Quintia says:

    My husband
    Dogs (mine especially)
    the pleasure that comes from growing flowers and food
    the Flathead River
    hiking
    beer
    baking delicious treats
    a soak in a hot spring
    skiing on a powder day
    riding horses
    sitting in the sun
    my mom
    reading a good book
    eating with my lunch bunch

    …..and so many more, thank you for reminding me of how much I have to be thankful for.
    Erin

  31. Barbara says:

    I’m thankful for……
    My husband
    Both my boys
    My sister, Mary
    My parents
    Dark chocolate
    My garden
    My house
    The Smoky Mountain National Forest
    Vacation time from work
    Nature
    Trees changing color in the fall
    Pizza
    My boss (she’s awesome!)
    My job
    Music

  32. lol-I love it. “A good fart.” This would definately be on my husband’s list!

    For me?
    -My Daughter. All of her-from her toddler screams to kisses with Elmo.
    -Curling up under a blanket and reading.
    -Singing. In a choir, in the car, in the shower…
    -A great cup of dairy free, sugar free decaf coffee (surprisingly hard to find).
    -waking up next to my husband before anyone else has woken up
    -silent reflections at the beach
    -the sound of the rain on the roof

    I could come up with more and think I shall make my own list as reasons to beat my own dis-ease. Thank you.

  33. DAS says:

    Yeah! I love this idea.
    I am thankful for:

    My husband
    Pumpkin Spice
    Central Heat
    Cozy Slipper Socks
    Ironic Halloween Costumes
    Supportive Friends and Family
    My Italian Heritage
    Mini Chocolate Bars
    Babies Giggles

    Oh I could go on all night. Great idea!

  34. Carrie says:

    Things I’m thankful for:

    -my amazing parents who teach by example
    -my sister, who constantly brings me laughter and warmth
    -my experience living and teaching in Dubai
    -my opportunities to travel and explore the world
    -friends who always stand by my side, no matter the distance or difficulty in my life

  35. I’m thankful for:
    My health
    The love of my life Gary
    My dogs, Carmella & Emmy
    My friends (there are only a few that really make this list but they are good ones)
    My family
    My ways with dogs
    My ability to write
    My home in Hawaii
    My MacBook Air
    The ocean
    My feeling of magic
    And so much more….

  36. Heidi says:

    Freshly picked cherry tomatoes from the garden
    The scientific method
    Birth control
    Electric blanket (with the pre-heat setting on)
    Mom
    My health
    Modern drugs, health care, and vaccines
    Ping pong
    Civil Marriage Act
    The Wheat Board
    Ricky

  37. Anonymous says:

    chance encounters
    homemade chocolate chip cookies
    new doors opening
    Travelling to new places
    advancements in medicine
    crazy friends!

  38. Royce says:

    Things I’m thankful for:

    the unconditional love that my children have for me
    the unconditional love that I give back to them
    my beautiful, intelligent, inspiring wife
    my not so beautiful, reasonably intelligent and equally inspiring friend Josh
    having friends who are friends no matter what
    being able to get into a good book
    having a thoughtful political conversation with someone
    free wifi in airports
    the smell and sound of a freshly cleaned hockey rink
    a sweet dangle
    knowing that someone else knows what I’m thinking without having to say it
    mario kart wii
    cm punk promo’s
    a million other things I can’t think of due to being sleep deprived in a Hong Kong airport

    word

  39. pattie says:

    I am thankful to God for all His care and blessings
    I am thankful for my husband and children
    I am thanful for the women in my life who give me strength and widom
    I am thankful for my simple path in life

  40. Pingback: October Essays & Creative Prompt

  41. Anonymous says:

    I am thankful for…

    My view of the sky
    “Missed Connections” on Craig’s list
    Warmth from other people
    Intellectual nourishment
    Nourishment
    Our mayor
    Connections
    Maple syrup
    The future
    Warmth from the sun
    Passion
    Activism
    Questions
    Relaxation

  42. Jen H says:

    I am thankful for:

    My wonderfully supportive husband, who can manage to make me laugh even while stuck in an airport in Hong Kong.
    My amazing kids.
    My parents and in-laws, who thankfully live close to us and have been so helpful with the kids.
    Good friends.
    The fact that we live in a country with a great and free health care and education system.
    Having a job and a boss that does not drive me crazy.
    When my husband tells me he’s going to 7-11 and asks if I want a slurpee (the answer is always yes).

  43. Becky Martin says:

    I’m thankful: that every day is a celebration/that I can always see the good even during a bad situation/that I get to laugh every day/for GOOGLE/for Skype/for understanding friends/for kisses and hugs/a good story/that I’m coming home for a visit in August/that the oppressive humidity has finally lifted! Yay!

  44. Pingback: Thanksgiving Project Update | Josh Martin Ink

  45. Anonymous says:

    I am thankful for

    my boyfriend (soon husband ;))
    my parents
    my brothers (being healthy again)
    my friends
    my cat
    the buddha’s teachings
    good books
    my home
    good food 😉
    my laptop
    the internet (most of the time)
    inspiring blogs
    health
    being able to learn a lot

    and so many more things…

  46. Shaun says:

    here is just a fraction of what I am thankful for:

    – my amazing wife
    – my amazing wife’s amazing cooking (I have no idea how I’m not 300 pounds 🙂 )
    – my health (maybe this is because of my wife’s cooking)
    – how our cats fight each other. endless seconds of amusement (the flights don’t last long)
    – cheesy and terrible (but awesome) romantic comedies
    – sunny fall days
    – cool fall evenings where you only need a light coat and can see you breath
    – twinkling stars on a clear night
    – camping
    – a cold beer after a long day
    – my friends
    – live music at a pub

  47. Anonymous says:

    I’m thankful for:

    My family
    Amazing friends
    The oppportunity to travel
    Thunderstorms
    The smell of rain on a warm summer night
    The spring because it means summer is almost here
    Dessert
    The ocean
    My mom’s cooking
    My mentors who without I wouldn’t be where I am in my career

  48. Mandy says:

    We are all incredibly lucky people! Lots to be thankful for:

    – A warm home on a cold night.
    – My family still liking me after moving away from the North.
    – When all of our friends are together in one place where we tell stories, be dumb, make fun of each other.
    – Laughing so hard that I get a headache.
    – A career that has become a passion and my incredibly intelligent colleagues.
    – KW. There are so many people here that are focused on helping those who need a hand. There’s something special about this place.
    – CBC Radio’s “The Debaters”.
    – Charles Mingus.
    – Cheap books on chapters.ca.
    – The spirit of giving at Christmas. I wish there was a way we could make that feeling last all year. A la Whoville.

  49. Helen says:

    I began a tradition a number of years ago of writing thank you notes for Thanksgiving. Each year I think of who has made the most difference in my life over the past year and write them a note. It feels good to do this and people tell me they enjoy getting the notes.

  50. Ginger Gorilla says:

    I am thankful for:

    – My lovely mating partner, Janele
    – great, hilarious friends
    – the calm following the Libby and Hurley storm of destruction and terror
    – forest hikes
    – camping
    – swimming at the grotto
    – Sauble Beach
    – Jarome Iginla
    – inappropriateness
    – amazingly over-the-top action movies
    – long weekends
    – music
    – Janele’s prime rib

  51. Jenn H says:

    Things I’m thankful for:

    – The movie “Tremors”
    – TV shows on DVD
    – The unconditional support of my parents
    – Cars that get great gas mileage
    – Memories of events that still make me laugh years later
    – Friends you’ve known forever and new ones that feel like you’ve known forever
    – Cheesy commercial jingles that get stuck in my head
    – Fluffy pillows and thick, heavy blankets

  52. Martha (MM) says:

    I’m thankful for:

    – my family most of all along with my friends, and my pain in the butt pets who I love dearly 🙂
    – cold beer and blogs
    – rainbows, sunshine, rainy days, and fluffy white clouds
    – watching the sunset at the beach, good food, laughter, dancing in the rain
    – a cold pool in the sweltering summer heat, and a comfortable warm bed in the cold of winter
    – having the strength and stamina to deal with all the difficulties life throws in my path without becoming bitter or depressed

    I am thankful for life itself and especially all the amazing simple things it brings!

  53. Pingback: The Thanksgiving Project: Giving thanks for the Sarahs | Josh Martin Ink

  54. The mataraja says:

    I’m thankful for:
    my wonderful wife
    my perfect son
    my family all across this planet we call home
    my friends like Josh who keep me laughing
    the almost science fiction like advanced medical technologies we have today
    cheerios and their calming effect on a crying matteo 🙂
    helpful and kind neighbors
    living in the greatest country in the world
    comic books and the art of writing in general
    onematch

  55. Anonymous says:

    Ben, the love of my life
    my two fat cats with seven legs
    my big fluffy dog, Indy
    the new life in my belly (tiny warrior)
    my healthy body
    camping in the piney woods
    my parents & my brother
    being able to work on environmental issues
    being paid a living wage
    my garden
    music
    art
    good wine
    good books
    a lifetime of learning
    prayer

  56. aikta says:

    i’m thankful for:

    – my family
    – being able to travel to new places in the world
    – silly tv shows
    – friends that i can laugh and me myself with
    – clementines
    – long weekends in the summer

  57. Kristie says:

    – my incredible husband who spoils me to pieces
    – my funny, crazy family
    – living in the best country on earth
    – music
    – Josheypoo
    – running into random people from the past
    – Lake Huron
    – catching up with friends over the phone or, even better, coffee
    – seeing kids do funny things
    – seeing older kids do kind things for each other
    – deep conversations with 13 year-olds
    – Friday after work
    – Sunday brunch
    – anytime I don’t have to make my own meal
    – faith, hope and love

  58. L M says:

    I’m thankful for my sweet family, good books, volunteer work, a roof over my head, food in the fridge, the change of the seasons, live music, dancing, laughter, dinner with friends, the library, rain, learning new things, meeting new people but cherishing old friends and so much more!

  59. Anonymous says:

    I am thankful for you starting this project
    I am thankful for Heidi share this
    I am thankful for my family and adopted families love me for who I am
    I am thankful for good health
    I am thankful for all the kids in my life
    I am thankful for my awesome life
    I am thankful for kids belly laughs
    I am thankful for chocolate
    I am thankful for my car
    I am thankful for all the nice people who were, are and will be in my life

  60. Pingback: The Thanksgiving Project - Giving Thanks for the Big Things | Be More with Less

  61. ~ a husband that adores me
    ~my children that have each taught and (continue to teach me) wonderful things everyday
    ~the sound of a child’s laughter
    ~my furbabies for always knowing when I need a cuddle
    ~the sound of the furnace kicking in at 6:30 am
    ~the smell of freshly brewed coffee
    ~sunshine pouring in through the windows
    ~the sound of a child’s laughter

  62. Laura says:

    I’m grateful for my wonderful boyfriend of 10 years,
    my running, which I took up only recently but is really giving me lots
    being able to walk out of bed every morning on my own two feet & without limping

  63. PAULA says:

    I’m thankful for:
    – a nice warm bath
    – good food and a good wine
    – health
    – running
    – a good laugh
    – a nice movei
    – a nice cup of tea with a yummy piece of carrot cake
    – waking up early when the whole city is still asleep
    – feeling ALIVE
    – travelling
    – good friends
    – a big hug
    – the thought of knowing that someon has my back no matter what
    – a cup of hot chocolate
    – chocolate!

  64. – My family (husband, son, father, brothers, beautiful nieces and yes, Michiokaku the cat!)
    – health for me and my family, after years of problems (keeping fingers crossed here)
    – doing the job I love
    – living in a beautiful place
    – horseriding (an illness, not a sport, but luckily a nice illness 😛 )
    – last but not least, for you having won your battle with leukemia 🙂

  65. Annonymous says:

    I’m thankful for the people in my life, the shared friendship, and the uncoditional love of my family. I am also thankful for the presence of God in my life.That God shares the burdens and allows me to support others is wonderful.

  66. Rebecca says:

    I am grateful that I retired, and can now wake up and go to sleep when my body wants to wake up and go to sleep.

  67. Debi Knight says:

    I’m thankful for my loving husband, we waited a long time to find each other. I’m thankful for quiet walks in the woods while the snow falls. I’m thankful for the bears in the woods around my home. I’m thankful for rain to quench the forest. I’m thankful for snow to quench the front range. I’m thankful for sledding down long winding roads with no cars. I’m thankful for warm, golden sunshine. I’m thankful for friends to share a meal with. I’m thankful for my puppies to give me a good laugh and a good walk.

  68. Linda says:

    I am thankful for:
    -my furry daughter, Taliesin
    -my friend, Beth
    -my vision
    -my ability to work at a job that is only adequate to keep a roof over my head
    and so many more things, with the death of my Father at the end of May, it has been difficult, if not at times impossible, to be gracious. But thankfully, when realiy such as Josh’s reminds me, I do find myself, once again grateful. Stay well Josh.

  69. Joana says:

    I am thankful for:
    My peace of mind
    My health and the health of my loved ones
    Having enough to survive
    An awesome boyfriend

  70. Steph says:

    I’m thankful for: (in no particular order)
    My son’s giggle
    My warm cat curled up on my lap
    The freedom to follow my dreams
    Being in remission for 19 years
    A reminder to be thankful for both the small and large things (thank you!)

  71. Anja says:

    I’m thankful most for:

    1. peace
    2. the right to express myself
    3. my family
    4. food
    5. freedom of religion
    6. my education and the chance to continue it if I wish
    7. my home
    8. nature that surrounds me
    9. friends
    10. my health
    11. everything I need to keep my health for as long as possible as much as possible
    12. the knowledge of all that I have to be thankful for

    Thank you for starting this project. I think it is a great idea and can contribute much to the happiness of those taking part, and those just stumbling upon it.

  72. Anonymous says:

    I’m thankful for those that love me as much as I love them.

  73. cc says:

    my eye sight
    the ability to read (having an education)
    the love of reading (thanks to my 6th grade teacher Miss Stanton)
    the library (free books!)
    the ability to read anything I want (no censorship)

  74. Cheryl says:

    I am thankful for:

    My husband who “gets” me.
    My family and friends.
    Nature’s beauty.
    Good books.
    Music that inspires and soothes me.

  75. Anonymous says:

    my husband
    my family
    my job
    access to fresh water
    a warm bed
    access to an abundance of delicious food
    road trips
    changing leaves
    psychotherapists
    solitude
    company

  76. Anonymous says:

    for the ability and the opportunity to earn a living, to provide for and support my family
    my family
    Jesus Christ, my savior
    my home
    my health, the health of those near and dear to me, and God’s healing hand of grace when we are ill
    for freedom, and for those who fight to protect our freedom

  77. Lori says:

    Things I am most thankful for:

    my pillow
    the sound of my children laughing – together
    the way my husband and I “get” each other
    my mom and dad who are healthy and together
    a really great hairstylist
    independent thinkers
    great movies
    cnn

  78. John Franco says:

    My ability to perceive reality, write, express opinions, the warm head of my sons

  79. Tali says:

    A list of thanks:
    -My health
    -The motivated and inspiring people who surround me
    -Laughter
    -earths resilience
    -clean water
    -the universe!!!
    Much much love to the world, I am so very grateful and thankful for you all.
    Tali

  80. What I am thankful for:
    My health
    My family and their health
    A roof over my head
    Food in the fridge
    Warm blankets
    Hugs from my children
    A kiss, a smile, an anything from my hubby
    My friends and their unconditional love
    Memories of my grandmother (and her recipes!)
    New socks
    Patience
    The freedom to be who I want to be
    Optimism

    Thank you!

  81. Nora says:

    I am thankful for:
    ~ My husband. The man loves me something fiece.
    ~ My sons
    ~ My Mother
    ~ My sisters
    ~ My family
    ~ My friends
    ~ Passionate kisses
    ~ Dance
    ~ Good food
    ~ Wine and yummy cocktails
    ~ Comedians
    ~ My job
    ~ My home
    ~ My healthcare
    ~ Inspiration
    ~ Nature
    ~ Music
    ~ Art
    ~ Children
    and so much more!

  82. Maggie says:

    I am so thankful for life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness! I appreciate my family, my friends, the roof over my head, good food to eat, a body that still works most of the time, and most of all….for the hope I have known since the day that I realized how much God loves me! May all have a blessed Thanksgiving! 🙂

  83. Hana says:

    Wishing everyone a Thanksgiving filled with blessings , am grateful for so much — “Hashem, The Universe for providing me with all the senses to enjoy all that surrounds me daily and the people that are part of the global tapestry – in love , unity and peace, Hana

  84. Kate says:

    I am thankful for family and friends, music, hula dancers, good food and wine, colorful art supplies and so much more! Thanks for reminding us to be grateful!
    Aloha, Kate

  85. G says:

    I am thankful for the abundance in my life:

    a loving husband who gets me for who I am
    two sets of great, caring parents (and brothers)
    my church
    my privilege to explore my passion and vocation
    laughter
    easy home-cooked meals
    people who taught me how to knit
    love in the midst of hard times
    all the children in my life
    life’s journey

  86. Courtney K. says:

    1. The ability to make music
    2. A good cup of coffee first thing
    3. A husband that is my everything
    4.Tightening our belts yet still having a nice place to call home
    5. Warm sun, cool breeze with fall color
    6. Learning the important lesson of living in the present
    7. Campfires and the great outdoors
    8. My family (made of blood, in-law, friends and furry critters)
    9. Good food, good drink, great laughter

  87. Merry Wright says:

    I’m thankful for my family, coworkers and job, our pets unconditional love (and that example), the smell of the desert when it rains, floating in a tube on a gently moving stream, the peace of a starry night in the wilderness.

  88. Pornthida says:

    I’m so thankful for the earth, the flood in my country (which makes me realise how fortunate I am), my parents, my husband and children, my family and friends, my work and everything in my life. I’m also very thankful for Josh in reminding me not to take life for granted and to be more grateful in many things surrounding me. Life should be as simple and meaningful as we can.

  89. Susannah says:

    I am thankful for good clean healthy soil to grow my food in.

  90. Paige Burkes says:

    My 3 beautiful children and having the ability to get pregnant and give birth to them at home.
    My absolutely wonderful husband who has had the patience to stick with me all these years.
    Our beautiful home in the Rocky Mountains with views to die for.
    Being able to see the Milky Way at night.
    Lots of great food.
    Campfires in our front yard.
    Camping with my family.
    My yoga and meditation practice.
    My health.
    Hot coffee and chai.
    Warm fires in our wood stove.
    My computer and the places it takes me, the connections I can make and the difference I can make because of it.
    My car – reliable after all these years.
    Love, love, love!!!

  91. Susan says:

    I am especially thankful for being able to:
    – read
    – write
    – draw
    – cook and eat well
    – live on the river
    – love and be loved

  92. lindimity says:

    I am thankful for:
    God’s love, Jesus’ willing sacrifice for me, 38 years with a loving husband, hospice, my sister, my whole family (those by birth and by choice), a small-town home, four different seasons, being able to travel to Colombia to meet the little girl we sponsor, having the money to sponsor a little girl, a safe place to live, beautiful music, Courtney linking to this blog…..the great thing about thinking of things I’m thankful for is that it could go on forever. I am blessed.

  93. Pat says:

    I am thankful…
    For my family
    My Home
    My Job and husbands Job
    For my god given talents and try not to waste them
    For the earth and the country we live in
    For the stars and the sky
    For all the beautiful animals, my dogs, the birds to name a few
    For the food that sustains us

  94. Karaline Gormley says:

    I am thankful for:

    -My loving husband and 5 month old daughter Ava
    -Our 3 dogs who love us unconditionally
    -Our beautiful home, which is such a comfort to return to at the end of the day
    -Flannel sheets on the bed when the weather turns chilly
    -The occasional trip to the hair salon…love the feeling of being pampered
    -Freedom
    -Sunny Sunday afternoon outings to the dog park

  95. Anonymous says:

    I’m thankful for…

    – my family (husband, two sons, mother, sister,…)
    – the time with my late dad
    – our house and garden
    – impressing days out with my SLR
    – summer evenings in my garden with a good book
    – walks in the Harz mountains in Germany
    – skiing in the Alpes

  96. Dana Nelson says:

    I am thankful for:
    My mind and body and the fact that I am a sentient human being with the possibility to to be hurt but also to feel joy. I can feel sadness, and immense love. I can think myself tall, and also can feel very dumb. I can be great some days, others feel very weak, but most of all… I can find the middle way. THAT is what I am grateful for.

  97. Sarah says:

    I am thankful for –

    New friends like Dana
    The return of old friends
    New love … And new love becoming everyday love and possibly forever love
    My pup
    A stable employed roommate
    Freedom and safety both physical and emotional
    Excessive amounts of blankets
    The approach of winter and the death of mosquitoes
    Having a stylist who works out of her own home
    Custom made skirts

  98. Pingback: Giudizio Universale Minimo « minimo.

  99. Maureen says:

    Things I am thankful for:

    My kind, loving, funny husband
    The perfect home that awaits us in Ajijic Mexico when we travel there next month
    My thriving business
    My kids and grandkids
    Companionship
    A rousing game of dominoes
    Good health
    My granddaughter’s hand in mind (extra points for her giggle)
    Never being lonely
    Chocolate

  100. Lynn Wigren says:

    I am thankful for
    *my best friend (my husband)
    *my sons & their families
    *our health
    *the roofs over our heads
    *our jobs
    *our friends

  101. I am grateful for so many things…thank you for this opportunity to share them:

    My truly wonderful husband, who adores me as much as I adore him
    My healthy beautiful children
    Health Insurance (even if it is a HMO and I’m having a tough time seeing the doctor right now)
    My warm home
    Both of my parents, who have lived past the age of their parents
    I have a good, secure job
    Carnival Cruise Lines
    Food to eat
    & just like Josh said, a good fart! 🙂

  102. Beyond grateful:
    for my 3 beyond awesome kids to love forever
    to finally having a great FT JOB after looking for 2 1/2 long years
    for finally being able to pay all my bills
    for having money in my checkbook after paying the bills
    for being able to buy food when the frig is not so full
    for God for always being there in good times and bad

  103. Cindy Holden says:

    I am thankful for changing my life in order to honor those friends who’ve passed before me. I’m still here, so I need to live the best life I can. I’ve embraced and continue to embrace what makes me happy: knowing that God is on my side, having fun in pretty much whatever I do, laughing until I can’t catch my breath anymore (yes, sometimes I’ve almost passed out), traveling when I can, and learning. Peace be to all of you.

  104. Pingback: The Thanksgiving Project: Giving thanks for life experiences | Josh Martin Ink

  105. Gayle says:

    My 3 amazing adult kids
    My health, strength, and vitality
    My fantastic husband
    Life itself

  106. cindy says:

    i’m so thankful for:
    – my four kids and the wonderful adults they have turned out to be
    – my grandson and his beautiful smile
    – my dogs
    – having a roof over my head & car to drive
    – making a living doing what i love most
    – supportive loving parents
    – friends
    – freedom
    – and so much more!

  107. Anonymous says:

    The freedom to choose what I do.

  108. Pingback: Giving Thanks & Taking Breaks « Life More Lived

  109. Janetty says:

    I am always appreciative and overwhelmed by the amount of love I receive from extraordinary people that have blessed my life. It amazes me how much love they possess and are willing to share. The love feeds my positive energy and I always reciprocate it and share it with those I love and those I do not even know.

    I am also thankful for warm, clean, water! Oh how wonderful it feels on a cold winter day.

    Happy holidays!!

  110. Marci Payne says:

    I am thankful for people who believe in me.
    for my creative, imaginative, spunky children
    for finding my way out of medical crisis
    for being able to live another day to spend time with those I love

  111. Becky says:

    I am thankful for:

    ~ My husband
    ~ My daughter
    ~ My parents
    ~ Freedom
    ~ My health

  112. Pingback: » Tips for a Healthy, Happy Thanksgiving Eat, Spin, Run, Repeat

  113. Mary says:

    A little group of wonderful people who live in a nursing home shared these thanksgivings with me:

    – Life
    – Warmth and Shelter
    – Food
    -Memories
    -Family and Friends
    -Music and singing
    -People who help me
    -Puppies who come to visit
    -Children
    -Books
    -Sunshine
    -Flowers

    These friends enkindle gratitude in my heart. I am thankful for each of them

  114. Bruce says:

    I’m thankful for EB, my girlfriend and wife of many years
    The last best place, Montana
    Travel, especially during those Montana winters
    My wonderful sons, wonderful partly because the are so different
    gratitude for each and every day!
    living the simple life.

  115. kelly1cl says:

    I’m thankful for having such a blessed life that I have to slow down and actually think about all the things I’m grateful for and not take them for granted.

  116. betty says:

    Came over from Martha’s blog; so glad you are cancer free and things are going well! Lots to be thankful for!

    I’m thankful for Jesus, my faith in him, his promises, his word. I’m thankful our little corgi went through chemo this year for lymphoma and is cancer free. I’m thankful for my family and all the blessings God has given me! Wonderful project!

    betty

  117. Karen T. says:

    I’m thankful for
    1. My wonderful husband
    2. My sweet daughters and my smart and kind son-in-law
    3. My sister and brother
    4. My generous and loving parents-in-law
    5. My inspiring mentor
    6. good health
    7. bifocals, which make it possible for me to see the gorgeous fall colors AND to read a good book!
    8. ENOUGH — shelter, food, clothing, transporation, medical care if I need it, fun times
    9. my education, which has benefitted and blessed me all my life
    10. my faith, the foundation for everything

  118. Pingback: The Thanksgiving Project: Giving thanks for the big things | Josh Martin Ink

  119. Sandra says:

    1. Clean, line dried sheets – bliss!
    2. Walking the dogs in the early morning and watching the sunrise
    3. Listening to the early morning birdsong
    4. Early morning mist
    5. Seeing the dogs run
    …..and that was just today…..so much to be grateful for, we are so lucky to be able to share these things with each other.

  120. Pingback: One Conscious Life » Refried Friday – Gratitude Edition

  121. Anonymous says:

    Things I am Grateful for:

    hot showers
    softly falling big fluffy snowflakes
    a cozy chair to curl up in and read

  122. Oz Girl says:

    I am most thankful for the beautiful 27 acres of prairie land where we live in Kansas. I always knew it would be marvelous to live in the country, but I never realized just how much I would appreciate living away from the city.

    Esp on Black Friday. 🙂

  123. vajra48 says:

    I am thankful for my hardworking husband, my gorgeous daughter and awesome sons, my two adorable grandchildren. Also the teachers at my grandson’s school for autism, my daughter’s lawyer who is solidly on her side during an ugly divorce.

    Our beautiful home, our two precious cats who light up our lives every day, our blessed neighbors who welcomed us into our neighborhood.

    There are so many more, I can’t even count.

  124. Lisa says:

    I’m thankful for my happy and healthy family. I’m thankful that my kids don’t care that we have money woes (and will likely lose our house) now that mommy has lost her job. (They’re grateful mommy is around more!) I’m thankful for our health, for our extensive blessings and for having the presence of mind to step back, look at the big picture and not ask, “when will it get easier?” but instead ask, “Why am I so lucky to have it this good?”

  125. Tina says:

    1. My wonderful supportive husband
    2. My family
    3. Amazing friends
    4. My mom’s cooking
    5. My kitties
    6. Summer campfires
    7. The smell of fall
    8. Traveling
    9. Hikes on the Bruce Trail
    10. Good food with good friends

  126. Matt K says:

    I’m thankful for:
    the amazing food i’m privileged to eat
    the 93′ Canadiens
    the home that i live in, even with all it’s creaks & surprises
    HD TV
    the beautiful game of soccer
    the interweb
    the times when Matteo falls asleep on my shoulder
    the holiday season & lighting up the 40ft tree in our front yard
    Great co-workers who make the day go faster
    Dates with my gorgeous wife

  127. Anonymous says:

    Public transportation
    A flexible/understanding manager
    Healthcare
    Track pants and sports bras
    Warm blankets

  128. Rachael says:

    My job and my fantastic colleagues
    The Canadian Health Care system – just became a new patient at the Georgian Nurse Practitioner-Led Clinic!
    My two cats who run to greet me at the door when I come home from work
    Music
    A hot tea on a cold day
    Tim Horton’s
    My neices and nephews – for being ridiculously cute, imaginative and reminding me not to take things so seriously.

  129. I am thankful for:

    Josh helping me move this Thursday! 🙂
    The Muppet movie I saw this weekend.
    Friends.
    Stockie. She was such a good dog. I picture her in dog heaven chasing squirrels.
    My coach for helping identify and pursue and my dream.
    Me. I’m often critical of myself but I’m a pretty decent kid.
    The various people I’ve met that are doing good in this world. Jamie. Naomi. KWT. Many more…
    Inspiration. Optimism. Hope. Courage.
    Maple walnut milkshakes.
    My Dad.
    Relationships & dating. While none of them lasted, I’m grateful for all the wonderful moments I’ve had in this department.
    That last first date. It’ll come!
    This catchy, happy song I’ve got in my head: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cZBe7_lE9lE
    My former boss and co-workers. Mike was such a great role model and the office was so much fun.
    Steve Zissou.

    Ok. I’ve got some packing to do. Moving in two days!!
    Oh yeah, purpose. I’m grateful for purpose.

  130. Anonymous says:

    Cliff Hanger, the greatest tragic hero of our time
    5:00pm on work days
    A bathroom when an emergency situation is about to turn into a cleanup operation
    Vacations
    Clear weather breaks between snow squalls when driving
    Hearing your favourite song on the radio
    Hot tubs
    Spell cheque
    Finding money in the pocket of clothing you haven’t worn in a long time
    Visits with my Grandparents
    Sleeping in a waterproof tent during a rain storm
    Boobs
    Waterfalls
    Euchre
    When hiccups stop
    Oktoberfest
    Volcanoes
    Distractions from work
    Dairy Queen blizzards
    Killarney
    Crazy Carpets
    Long showers after a camping trip
    Thunderstorms

  131. Anonymous says:

    – Josh Martin’s backflips (i dont care what you say it happened)
    – DMC DeLoreans, the basis for back to the future
    – Thundercats….. nuf said
    – Family
    – Friends
    – Parties Jared doesnt do high kicks in his underwear
    – A good fart
    – Laughing at a good fart

  132. Anonymous says:

    -Being a nerd
    -seeing friends accomplish their goals
    -looking back fondly on university memories
    -chicken fajitas
    -next door neighbors
    -lifelong friends
    -pictures capturing moments in time

  133. Shane D. says:

    Thankful for:
    my handy man brother
    my awesome mother
    the rest of my family
    my friends
    my roomate (because I get cheap rent)
    having a good job
    goring Locusts with a retro lancer when my job isn’t so great
    NOT have a cell phone
    grilled pineapple on my burger
    not having to live paycheque to pay cheque
    Being Canadian
    drives home after work
    8 out of 12 AFA 12 backs and counting…
    Death Valley

  134. Anonymous says:

    The Sun
    Modern medical advancements
    Indoor plumbing
    Clean water
    Social programs
    Tacos
    Deodorant
    Comfy shoes
    Warm weather
    Trees

  135. I am thankful for:

    – my fiance, and more importantly partner of my head and heart, John
    – my patient supportive creative parents, Angela and Raphael
    – my autistic brother, Raphy, whose lack of social masking has taught me so much about healthy boundaries
    – my mastermind group, a fabulous group of women who are supportive yet firm in helping support my building a business
    – a clear sense of my purpose on this earth: teaching people to access their entire selves so they can live life fully, make the changes they want effectively, and have the joy we are here to experience
    – homemade oatmeal crispies
    – homemade pumpkin bread
    – baking wheat bread
    – tweaking recipes on the fly in the kitchen
    – flan that’s had a day to set in the fridge
    – green juice with some ginger, fresh out of the juicer
    – beet juice fresh out of the juicer
    – the smell of onions and garlic sauteeing in the pan
    – the sound of the bell as I clear space
    – the surprise scent of incense blotting out all the usual city smells when I turn the corner onto the train platform at 15th & Market
    – walking barefoot on carpet
    – cuddling with John on the couch like a couple of cats
    – falling asleep in the sunlight
    – the sound of ocean waves
    – a full moon night
    – the first crisp scent of winter on the air
    – the first full-of-life scent of spring on the air
    – a cold night, hot peppermint tea, wool socks, and an oversized chenille sweater
    – a book I can’t put down no matter how late at night it is
    – Skyrim (the gamers will get this)
    – essential oils added to massage creme
    – massage therapists that love what they do
    – fuzzy pets: cats, dogs, parrots, horses
    – the scent and feel of clothes right out of the dryer
    – having nowhere I have to be at a particular time so I can just wander at my own pace
    – the colors and feel of fresh produce
    – eating a fresh potato bread roll and a juicy plum instead of the usual PB&J
    – the ability to dream
    – laughter
    – the ability to cry
    – hugs
    – kisses, all kinds
    – the wide eyed look babies excel at, only surpassed by that unexpected and sudden and absolutely completely present smile that at times breaks out upon their faces
    – our brains, amazing living machines
    – our bodies, marvelous creations they are
    – different cultures
    – different languages
    – the feeling of being full of an idea and driven to express it in writing, art, or word until it’s all out
    – the feeling of music moving through you as you dance
    – the end of a challenging work out
    – a hot bath in a room lit by just one candle
    – the peace of floating on my back in a pool
    – land, no matter how little, to dig in and to garden in
    – the scent of flowers
    – the feel of stone underfoot
    – wind blowing through my hair
    – having a voice, feeling it vibrate inside me as I whisper, shout, sing
    – sex and the connection, silliness, and pleasure it brings
    – mirrors
    – the internet

    • Tess and Anna says:

      Hi Josh! Anna and I have been chatting about this project of your’s for a couple weeks, sorry it took so long to get our responses up here but here are some of our highlights:
      – family, friends, community, education
      – getting to the intersection just as the cross-walk sign changes
      – smoke’s poutine
      – Meme’s Christmas Eve Party
      – Christmas lights
      – Mom making our bed
      – SNOW DAYS!!
      – weddings (and open bars at weddings)
      – family camping trips
      – striking an assignment of the “to do” list
      – cliff jumping (into the water)
      – endless days at the beach, in particular extra long and hot ones
      – sitting in a chair in the lake on such a day, with a gin and tonic in hand
      – exploring the lake in the canoe
      – rock diving
      – sliding down the clay cliffs
      – searching for the dinasour egg under water
      – getting mail (thats not a bill)
      – comfortable silences
      – singing in the car
      – going for ice cream
      – willow trees
      – outdoor skating
      – windmills
      – having a DD to and from an event
      – coming home from a long day and changing into comfy clothes
      – special treats Mom gets for camping trips
      – falling asleep in front of the wood fire
      – feeling sick on Christmas morning from too much chocolate and overheating
      – decorating Easter eggs
      – carving pumpkins
      – FOUNTAIN POP (yum)
      – Goderich/Lucknow Santa Claus parade
      – Christmas caroling for Meme and Nesie
      – going pee after holding it FOR-EVVVER
      – OSAP
      – walking in the gently falling snow and hearing the snow crunch under your boots
      – running through the cornfield
      – giving yourself 5 extra minutes to walk to school
      – actually doing the readings before class
      – people being nice (like the guy who paid for Anna to dry her laundry yesterday because he had extra money on his card and was moving out of the building AND the lady who gave Anna her day pass for the subway because she was done with it AND the chick who gave me a $15 Tim’s card for borrowing mn notes for 2 weeks)
      – student discounts on McDeal’s (Big Mac combo = $6)
      – a nearly empty Greyhound so you don’t have to sit with some weirdo

  136. Miss Zen says:

    smell my baby’s neck
    run in the early morning
    hot tea in a nice cup
    read
    play & laugh with my son
    hot bath
    walk in the woods during fall
    christmas lights
    croissants chauds….

  137. Pingback: The Thanksgiving Project: That’s a wrap! | Josh Martin Ink

  138. My coder is trying to convince me to move to
    .net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the costs.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type
    on various websites for about a year and am concerned about
    switching to another platform. I have heard excellent things about blogengine.
    net. Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress posts into it?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  139. Launa says:

    Hello admin do you need unlimited content for your page ?
    What if you could copy article from other pages, make it unique and publish on your site – i know the right tool for
    you, just search in google:
    Ziakdra’s article tool

  140. Pingback: Giudizio Universale Minimo | minimoblog test

Leave a Reply

