Taking the Plunge

The cliff I readied myself to leap from stood a mile high if it stood an inch. OK, maybe not. But it was high. And the water below did look awfully far away. My knees shook a bit as I tried to convince myself to do it.

I’m glad I didn’t do a belly flop.

This was a week ago at Killarney Provincial Park in Northern Ontario.  We were losing daylight and we’d be leaving bright an early the next morning. This was my last chance to do the cliff jump. I knew I’d regret it if I didn’t do it and the fact that my friend, Shaun, had just jumped a minute earlier and would mock me incessantly if I wimped out only added to my need to take the plunge.

I couldn’t stand on that rock forever so I eventually mustered the courage and took a leap of faith. It was terrifyingly exhilarating. I forgot to plug my nose so when I hit the water from that height it blasted painfully up my right nostril. I’m pretty sure my brain’s floating around in Lake Killarney water now.

I’m taking a different plunge now. It (hopefully) won’t involve diving off cliffs, but it’s scary in its own right. Today was my last day at work with World Vision Canada. I’ve worked here for the past five years and it’s been an awesome experience. But all good things come to an end and I’ve decided to pursue a lifelong dream of mine of running my own business.

I’ve dipped my toes (yes, more water metaphors) into the world of self-employment in the past. But I’ve never felt that I’ve given it a fair shake. So come Monday morning I’ll be a full-time employee of Josh Martin Ink and will be making a go out of freelance writing and self-publishing.

My dog Stockie will work as COO. She’s constantly going outside for pee breaks but I pay her in kibble so I guess I can’t complain.

Like the cliff in Killarney, I’ve looked over the edge for a long time now. My experience with cancer put into focus that life is short. We’re all losing daylight and I know that I’d regret not taking this plunge before it’s too late.

It’s also an ideal time for me. No kids, no mortgage, no horse track debt to the mafia.

I’m excited. I’m nervous. But mostly I feel ready. This is something I feel called to do. I don’t know if this will end with a splash or a splat but at least I’ll be able to tell myself that I gave it a shot.

You’ll see some changes on this website in the next couple weeks that reflect some of the new projects I’m working on. So stay tuned and thanks for your support!

So what else can I say, except, GERONIMO!

_________________________________

Funny stories. Good advice. Josh Martin is the author of the book “Simple(ton) Living: Lessons in balance from life’s absurd moments.” Click here to learn more and to purchase a copy.

This entry was posted in blog, Josh Martin's I've Never Club and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Taking the Plunge

  1. Rob says:

    Inspirational! Congrats on taking the plunge – both literally and figuratively. And thanks for continuing to share your insights on the “we’re all losing daylight” theme… it’s an important reminder for us all.

    Also, Stockie will make a great COO. Just make sure to tie in Beggin Strips as part of an incentive program.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Josh, I wish you happiness, and good work. I know you have been working toward this for a long time. All my love and best wishes, Myrta

  3. Dianne Martin says:

    If we all knew what the future holds for us maybe none of us would take the plunge……Good Luck and no regrets…Give it your all as you always do….

  4. Andrew Riddles says:

    You’d be a hero of mine anyway, but doing this just enshrines you in the hall of fame. You are awesome!

  5. Anonymous says:

    As one who was self employed for four years and decided to retire, I have no regrets and learned some amazing things about life, myself, what I’m capable of; what I’m willing or not willing to change about myself to be successful and realizing as self employed you get out EXACTLY what you put in. It builds confidence, strength and stretches you boundaries. It’s an incrediable experience, good luck with exploring this new version of yourself.

  6. Anonymous says:

    That last post was from your sister, the best of the three, LOL!!

    • Favourite sister, eh?… Jody??? 🙂
      Thanks for the great advice and words of encouragement!

      • Chandra says:

        cupcake8million Posted on congrats- your livnig my dream since you won’t see your family/ friends for a long tie you could go cheesy- wish you were here or on the trail again or Where in the world is (your name)? Best of luck!

  7. Marie McCrudden says:

    I have every confidence that you will be successful. You’ve beat the odds time and time again; this will be no exception. Plus, it helps that you have the best friends in the world who will feed and clothe you as necessary 😉
    You’re going to do great things and inspire greatness in others…as you’ve already done.
    GERONIMO!

    • Thanks Marie! You’re the best!

      • Naresh says:

        Sorry, you also need: from circuits.net.pollers iomprt EPollI also tried the same test on a monster 2x quad core xeon 5520httperf –hog –timeout=60 –client=0/1 –server=localhost –port=10000 –uri=/ –rate=400 –send-buffer=4096 –recv-buffer=16384 –num-conns=40000 –num-calls=1 Maximum connect burst length: 1Total: connections 40000 requests 40000 replies 40000 test-duration 100.001 sConnection rate: 400.0 conn/s (2.5 ms/conn, FD_SETSIZE; limiting max. # of open files to FD_SETSIZEMaximum connect burst length: 40Total: connections 40000 requests 39975 replies 20859 test-duration 114.926 sConnection rate: 348.0 conn/s (2.9 ms/conn, <=26959 concurrent connections) Connection time [ms]: min 233.0 avg 6634.8 max 72470.5 median 3327.5 stddev 9396.5 Connection time [ms]: connect 4989.3 Connection length [replies/conn]: 1.000Request rate: 347.8 req/s (2.9 ms/req) Request size [B]: 62.0Reply rate [replies/s]: min 0.0 avg 189.6 max 1384.3 stddev 392.4 (22 samples) Reply time [ms]: response 3230.8 transfer 0.0 Reply size [B]: header 38.0 content 5.0 footer 0.0 (total 43.0) Reply status: 1xx=0 2xx=20859 3xx=0 4xx=0 5xx=0CPU time [s]: user 2.43 system 112.48 (user 2.1% system 97.9% total 100.0%) Net I/O: 28.7 KB/s (0.2*10^6 bps)Errors: total 19141 client-timo 583 socket-timo 0 connrefused 0 connreset 18558 Errors: fd-unavail 0 addrunavail 0 ftab-full 0 other 0

Leave a Reply

