I’ve Never… had acupuncture.

I’ve wanted to try acupuncture for a long time now. My benefits cover it and I’ve certainly had enough chronic back pain to warrant a visit. Despite these legitimate reasons, I didn’t go until a cute girl told me to.  It appears that many of my decisions are still motivated by my libido.

I met this attractive acupuncturist at a bar in Toronto a couple weeks earlier. We got to talking and it came up that she had a clinic up near where I work. She told me that I should make an appointment with her so I did just that. To be honest, she could have told me to light myself on fire and I probably would have.

My appointment with the good doctor was this past Wednesday and it went well. I’ll probably go for another couple sessions to see if I notice any changes. I didn’t notice any huge improvements to my back pain from this first treatment but definitely felt more relaxed (which is strange considering you’re being stabbed with a bunch of needles).

The appointment didn’t start so relaxed however. “Are you wearing boxers?” she asked as we got started.

Being a newbie, I didn’t realize I’d be stripping down for the session. Now something like this might not concern most people. But you have to remember that I’ve been doing a buy nothing new challenge all year. So suffice to say, the majority of my gotchies aren’t exactly in tip-top condition. More like rags dangling off a waistband that’s lost most of its elasticity.

“……yes?” I replied, wracking my brains trying to remember what pair I was wearing.

She left the room to let me get undressed. Fumbling with my belt I heaved a huge sigh of relief. The gods, universe or my subconscious was looking out for me when I got dressed in the morning because I was wearing the only decent boxers I own.

It was a cool experience and I’ve always been fascinated with “alternative” medicine — especially one that’s been around for thousands of years. It’s remarkably painless and a nice change of pace from a pharmaceutical approach. I recommend giving it a try, especially if other, more conventional options for pain relief haven’t been working for you.

Just be sure to wear a decent pair of undies.

__________________________________

Funny stories. Good advice. Josh Martin is the author of the book “Simple(ton) Living: Lessons in balance from life’s absurd moments.” Click here to learn more and to purchase a copy.

This entry was posted in blog, Buy Nothing, Josh Martin's I've Never Club and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’ve Never… had acupuncture.

  1. Pingback: I’ve Never… been a Spartan | Josh Martin Ink

Leave a Reply

