Freeing up time and money: minor and major changes

We live in a world that increasingly demands more of our time and money. A key characteristic of simple living is freeing up and reclaiming some of that time and money in order to achieve a more balanced life.

When you spend less money on stuff you don’t need, you have more to spend on the other priority areas of your life you’ve been neglecting. More importantly though, it also means you are reducing your cost of living. This can translate into things like being able to work fewer hours which frees up more time.

I only work 4 days a week. It means less money for me. But I can afford to do this because I’m deliberate about keeping my personal expenses low. For example, if I had gone out a bought a big house for myself I’d likely need to work at 100% in order to pay a big mortgage.

I know this isn’t an option for a lot of people. The fact that I have a great boss, a flexible schedule, a decent salary and no family to support are key reasons why I’m able to do this. Everybody’s situation is different. But even so, I do think there are changes that everybody can make in their lives, from minor to major, to free up time and money.

Below is a chart listing some examples of changes people can make along that minor to major spectrum. Start with the easier stuff and work your way up. Identify one or two things that you think you can take on and go from there.  And remember, what works for one person, won’t work for another. Simple living is journey. Don’t sabotage yourself by trying to take on too much too soon.

What are some other changes you can think of to help free up time and money?

__________________________________

Funny stories. Good advice. Josh Martin is the author of the book “Simple(ton) Living: Lessons in balance from life’s absurd moments”. Click here to learn more and to purchase a copy.

This entry was posted in blog, Simple Living tips and advice and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Freeing up time and money: minor and major changes

  1. Marie says:

    I started couponing this past week. I saved $10 at the grocery story and $14 at Shopper’s Drug Mart. I limit my coupons to products that I normally buy rather than buying something just because I have a coupon. I figure over the course of a year, I can save upwards of $500. As I get better and more savvy, this can increase 🙂
    And it costs me nothing to get the coupons. They mail them to me for free. Not only am I saving money at the register, but I get mail that isn’t bills! Bonus!

  2. Damien says:

    Great “freegan” reference. Ever see the movie “Dive”?

    Great suggestions once again. I often complain of how little money I make but then I realize that it would really take a lot of money to convince me to give up doing a job I like and feel good about and being home by 4:30 most days to make a dinner that does not come from a box. Let Andrea make the big bucks! I have no trouble being “kept.”

  3. Pingback: Hay Bale to the Head: A lesson in work-life balance | Josh Martin Ink

Leave a Reply

