Simple living quotes

I like quotable quotes. Mostly, I think, because they say things so much better than I can. With that in mind, I’ve added a new page of some of my favourite simple living quotes. Click here to read them and be sure to leave your own!

I think another reason I enjoy a good quote is because of my upbringing. Growing up in a rural southwestern Ontario family exposed me to a lot of unusual idioms. Most of them I could unravel the meaning. But some simply didn’t make a lick of sense (I just realized that “lick of sense” is one of those adages I grew up with).

Here’s a list of some personal favourites from my childhood. Some of them are from memory and others from a list of sayings my Uncle Joe wrote that my Dad and stepmom recently shared with me.

  • “As happy as a skunk in a wood pile.” (I dunno – I guess skunks really enjoy piles of wood?)
  • “Colder than a well-digger’s butt.”
  • “As scarce as hens teeth.” (yup, that’s pretty scarce – unless it’s a genetically modified hen, maybe)
  • “Give it a lick and a promise.” (sounds mildly sexual)
  • “I’m not a flying machine.” (this was something my Grandma Martin would say, apparently – I use it myself from time to time)
  • “Runs slick like a tomcat in a milk house.” (No. Friggin’. Clue.)
  • “As mad as a wet hen.”
  • “As annoying as a burr in your shirt tail.” (definitely annoying)
  • “As free from brains as a frog is from hair.”
  • “As handy as a pocket in a shirt.”
  • “A wink is as good as a nod to a blind horse.” (why are you winking at a horse in the first place?)
  • “As hard as the devil’s forehead.” (apparently he’s pretty hardheaded)
  • “Undependable as a broken stick.”
  • “Two shakes of a dead lamb’s tail.” (guh?)

Do you know any unusual quotes?

__________________________________

Funny stories. Good advice. Josh Martin is the author of the book “Simple(ton) Living: Lessons in balance from life’s absurd moments.” Click here to learn more and to purchase a copy.

This entry was posted in blog, Simple Living tips and advice and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Simple living quotes

  1. Becky says:

    “Two shakes of a dead lamb’s tail.” Mom used to say that to us when we stopped at Meme’s after church to pick something up or talk to someone and we didn’t want to get out of the car and asked her how long she was going to be. Dude, it means as long as it will take a dead lamb to shake it’s tail twice, a long friggin’ time! MOM!

Leave a Reply

