10 Simple New Year’s Resolutions

Merry belated Christmas everybody! I hope you all had an enjoyable holiday filled with family, friends and good times. I for one had a great, if not exhausting, time. With New Year’s Eve a few short days away, have you decided on any resolutions for 2011? Here are some suggestions, broken down into things to do less of and things to do more of.

  1. Less TV. I am extremely guilty of watching too much TV. Hours just slip away in front of the mind-numbing glow of Glee or Seinfeld reruns. Make a commitment to cut back on the amount of time in front of the boob tube. Better yet, get rid of it all together. You won’t miss it for long.
  2. Less meat. I feel like I just ran a meat marathon this past week. My god! The Christmas season must be a slaughter house’s dream come true. I’ve been trying to get back on the vegetarian wagon for a while now so maybe this holiday gorging and subsequent barfy feeling is the final push I need. You don’t need to go cold tofurkey though. Ease into it if you have to by only eating meat on weekends or cutting back gradually from week to week.
  3. Less buying. My friend, Tara, just ratcheted up a few notches on my cool-o-meter since deciding to make 2011 a Buy Nothing Year – no shopping for the entire year, except for things that can be entirely consumed or used up. Awesome. I don’t know if I’ll be able to go the full year but definitely inspiring me to buy less. I moved to a new place in 2010 and found myself going overboard on buying a bunch of crap I didn’t need, so I hope to make up for it in 2011!
  4. Less activity. A cleaner calendar is definitely in order for 2011. Learning to say no and organize your time better are great ways to keep your busyness at a sustainable rate. Check out an earlier Tips Tuesday I wrote about this.
  5. Less whining. There’s a lot of boo-hoo’ing going around. Learning to appreciate the little things in life that we take for granted – like having a roof over our heads, not fearing for our lives every day, having food in our stomachs, having a drink of clean, safe water, a mere turn of the faucet away – can keep you positive. Fostering an attitude of gratitude is something I’m going to work on more in 2011.
  6. More exploring. There’s adventure around every corner. Exploring local museums, hiking trails, restaurants, festivals, etc. are fun ways to get to know your community better. Check out an earlier Tips Tuesday post I wrote about this.
  7. More kindness. I bought my Mom a cool little calendar book from Chapters called “A Simple Act”. A very neat little book outlining 365 simple acts of kindness. Definitely something the world needs more of.
  8. More exercise. I imagine this is on a lot of people’s resolutions lists. Getting more exercise not only keeps your body strong and healthy, but is a great way to de-stress, feel better emotionally, and clear your head. Having my dog, Stockie, is a great way to keep me motivated to get daily exercise. If you don’t have a dog and need that extra push, get together with other friends in your neighbourhood and start or join a walking or running group.
  9. More reading. There’s a stack of books on my bookshelf that I haven’t touched. This resolution is related to the first one of watching less TV to free up time for other, more stimulating activities. I’m actually a painfully slow reader, which I think is one of the reasons I don’t read as often as I’d like. But I’m going to challenge myself to do more it in 2011.
  10. More deliberate. I have a quote from Henry David Thoreau posted in my room that says “Go confidently in the direction of your dreams! Live the life you’ve imagined.” Following your dreams takes discipline and being deliberate. If you really want something in life you can’t wait around and hope it falls in your lap. You need to go after it, work hard for it and take risks. Achieving your dreams takes confidence to overcome the self-doubt and the fear of change. If you’ve always wanted to learn how to play a guitar, stop dreaming about it and go out and get yourself some lessons. Resolve to take concrete steps toward achieving your dreams in 2011.

What are your resolutions this year? Leave your comments below.

Happy New Year everybody! All the best for a wonderful (and simple) 2011!

__________________________________

Funny stories. Good advice. Josh Martin is the author of the book “Simple(ton) Living: Lessons in balance from life’s absurd moments.” Click here to learn more and to purchase a copy.

This entry was posted in Simple Living tips and advice and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 10 Simple New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Blogger Kate says:

    1) Reinstate the art of the handwritten letter. 2) Carry cash. 3) Spend less time on Facebook and more time talking to friends over coffee. 4) Cancel my data plan on my cell phone.

    • Great ideas, Kate. I particularly like your first and third ones. Handwriting is definitely becoming a lost art (along with spelling!). Good call also on your cell phone. I actually got rid of mine altogether recently and haven’t missed it one bit.

  2. candie adams says:

    I’ve resolved buy no new clothes or books for the entire year. Does anyone know of a blog/challenge/group/etc. doing something like this for 2011? Could really use the company .

    • You’ll be in good company here, Candie. I’m doing a “buy nothing new” year myself for 2011 which I’m looking forward to. A few other friends are also doing the same who will be posting here. Stay tuned, I’ll have a buy nothing blog post coming up later this week with more details. Keep us posted about your challenge – sounds awesome!

  3. Pingback: 2011 – a “buy nothing new” year | Josh Martin Ink

Leave a Reply

