I’ve Never… been to a Salamander Festival

A great fringe benefit of writing these “I’ve Never” posts is that I find myself even more compelled to try new things – no matter how random. Case in point: a few weeks ago I was on my way to help my friend, Punia, finish painting her condo in Toronto. En route I drove past a sign advertising the annual Belfountain Salamander Festival.  

Guh?

I’ve been to a lot of festivals but have to admit that this was a first. Belfountain is a pretty little village up in the Niagara Escarpment – and apparently renowned for salamanders. Who knew?

Before this blog I might have continued driving, especially since Punia was waiting and tempting her wrath is never a good idea. But, I’ve never been to a salamander festival, and after writing my post about adventure in our backyards, I couldn’t resist pulling over. The festival was fun – live music, hot soup served in pumpkin bowls, crafts and art displays. No salamanders though, which I found a bit bizarre, but maybe I missed them.

I couldn’t stay long as I was starting to feel Punia’s glare burning in my mind. So I bought her a pumpkin as an apology for my tardiness and continued into the congestion of Toronto, grateful for the random small-town rest stop along the way.

I’ve always been open to trying new things. But because of this blog, I’m making a conscious habit of embracing the random now and it’s becoming more of a lifestyle, which is a lot of fun. 

Attend a salamander festival? Check.

Duane Elgin, author of “Voluntary Simplicity”, talked about the “invisible wealth of experiential riches.” My “I’ve Never Club” is inspired by this idea and chronicles my reflections on the novel things I’ve done recently.  

__________________________________

Funny stories. Good advice. Josh Martin is the author of the book “Simple(ton) Living: Lessons in balance from life’s absurd moments.” Click here to learn more and to purchase a copy.

This entry was posted in blog, Josh Martin's I've Never Club and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

