I’ve Never… been a celebrity spokesperson.

 “If you never have, you should.
These things are fun and fun is good.”
— Dr. Seuss

 

The University of Guelph is putting on a buccal swab event in support of One Match, Canada’s stem cell and bone marrow registry. A while back the organizers got in touch with me, having heard about my experience with my bone marrow transplant, and asked me if I wanted to lend a hand. They offered me a free event t-shirt, so naturally I agreed. 

I met the lovely organizers, Sarah and Sarah, for coffee in Guelph and I asked how I could help out. They suggested shooting this quick 1-minute promo video talking about my experience. My favourite part of the filming experience was when one of the Sarahs politely asked “So… what are you wearing under that sweater?”

Translation: “My GOD, that’s a hideous sweater you’re wearing you filthy hobo. You are NOT appearing in our video wearing THAT.”  

So if I come across at all emotional in this video it’s because I was so offended by them forcing me to take my sweater off and not because I’m reliving a horrific experience.

If any of you know people at the University of Guelph, be sure to spread the word about this great event. November 1st at the University Centre at U of G from 9 am-6 pm. Be sure to bring your health card. In my opinion, this should be looked at as a civic duty, like voting or waving to the car behind you when you merge into their lane. For more information check out their Facebook page here 

I meant what I said about the waiting being the hardest part. And as much as the medical expertise, my attitude and personal discipline contributed to me not being dead, none of that would have mattered if a complete stranger hadn’t stepped up and joined a registry like OneMatch.

Be a poorly-dressed “celebrity” spokesperson? Check.

__________________________________

Funny stories. Good advice. Josh Martin is the author of the book “Simple(ton) Living: Lessons in balance from life’s absurd moments.” Click here to learn more and to purchase a copy.

This entry was posted in blog, Josh Martin's I've Never Club and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’ve Never… been a celebrity spokesperson.

  1. Nancy says:

    I like your celebrity debut…very natural and convincing!

  2. Sarah says:

    Josh, reading this made my night! You were such a good sport about filming that video for us 🙂 You are the best spokesperson we could have asked for!

Leave a Reply

